Help! Is a 2019 Crafter a good purchase?

CrafterCamper

Hi

I hope this isn't too ridiculous a question but I am new to all this so please bear with me!

I am just about to purchase a 2019 Crafter. More specifically a 2.0 CR35 TDI L Startline 138BHP Luton. I want to convert into a camper.

I have done my research and everything seems to be saying these are good reliable vans. However... a chance meeting with a commercial vehicle mechanic today has scared me.

I've been told that they are a nightmare and he wouldn't recommend to anyone to buy one. He said about regular issues with glowplugs, and injectors and their sensors. EGR problems and some other stuff I can't even remember. He told me horror stories of dashboards lit up like a christmas tree!

I'd be really grateful for some advice from a group of owners of such vans to see what you all think... Is this scaremongering or are these vehicles really so problematic

Is there anything you would advise a new owner to look out for? I have found out the details of VW garage who have previously maintained it so I could ask any specific questions of them also if there's any you'd suggest.

Thanks so much in advance!

Rich

I can't answer your question as our TGE has only covered 6.6k but previous experience with T4s, T5s and a T6 has always been good. I don't like pointing folks away from this forum but there is a FB page dedicated to the conversion etc. of post 2017 Crafters and TGEs. However please remember that folks only post about problems and almost never about the trouble free vehicles so reading these places will always skew your impression.